Maryland Tourism Council MTTS Awards

Annapolis, MD—The annual Maryland Tourism and Travel Summit (formerly known as the Governor’s Tourism Industry Conference) is an educational and networking event for the state’s diverse tourism and travel industry, but it is also an event that recognizes the hard work, contributions, and leadership among individuals and companies within the industry. This year’s event had almost a 10 percent increase in attendance despite the economy and overall Maryland’s tourism industry continues to see positive growth and increased visitor number thanks to the efforts of professionals in the industry. The MTC gives six Professional Awards and eight Marketing Awards to members of the MTC nominated by their peers and/or employers. Recipients of the Professional Awards  are honored for their skill, dedication, and talent that bring professionalism to Maryland tourism. The Marketing Awards recognize MTC members whose marketing programs are creative, thoughtful, and innovative and are the result of successful team efforts to bring visitors and travel revenue to Maryland.

This year’s honored recipients are as follows:

Professional Awards

Tourism Person of the Year: Susan Jones, Director of Ocean City Hotel-Motel-Restaurant Association

Audrey Davenport Hospitality Person of the Year: Brigitte Peters, Tourism Director for the city of Havre de Grace

Professional of the Year: Lisa Dennis, Director of Events and Advertising for the Greater Ocean City Chamber of Commerce

Impact Award: Worcester County Tourism for the Host Our Coast Promotion Project

Maryland Tourism Education Foundation—Educational Development Award: Michael Haynie, Managing Director for Baltimore’s Tremont Plaza Hotel and Tremont Grand

Tourism Advocate Award(s): Senator James Robey, Delegate Guy Guzzone, and Howard County Tourism and Promotion

Marketing Awards

Industry Partnership Award:  National Aquarium, Maryland Science Center for Baltimore Waterfront Invasion, and Visit Baltimore

Cooperative Promotion Award (Integrated Campaign or Continuing Program): St. Mary’s County Division of Tourism for the Celebrate 375 Campaign

Cooperative Promotion Award (One-Time Initiative): Queen Anne’s County Department of Economic Development, Agriculture and Tourism; Kent County Office of Tourism; Cecil County Department of Economic Development, Agriculture, and Tourism for the Chesapeake Country National Scenic Byway Alliance

Best New/Improved Product or Event: Talbot County Office of Tourism for the Talbot County Bicycle Trails

Best Printed Promotional Material: Havre de Grace Office of Tourism for their destination guide “Journey to a Simpler Time”

Best Visitor’s Guide, Destination Compendium: St. Mary’s County Division of Tourism for Discover St. Mary’s County Destination Guide “Discover St. Mary’s…Maryland Begins Here”

Best Electronic Marketing: Garrett County Chamber of Commerce for the WTAE-TV Ad Campaign

Best Shoestring Budget: Howard County Tourism and Promotion for Spirits of Ellicott City

Judges’ Award: Linganore Wineries

Mary Jo McCulloch, President and CEO of the Maryland Tourism Council says, “These awards are an important component of the annual Conference as they recognize the hard work and dedication of members of our industry and they also inspire creativity and new initiatives across the board.” All recipients are to be congratulated.

One response to “Maryland Tourism Council MTTS Awards

  1. Congratulations to all the new board members and fellow award recipients!
    Special thanks to Ruth for hosting us in her lovely hotel and to Susan and all the OC’ers for making this a great MTTS!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s